World Surf League surfers will honor their favorite women athletes on their jerseys


Photo Credit: WSL

Photo Credit: WSL

Athletes of the World Surf League will be honoring their favorite female athletes for International Women’s Day by wearing their names on the backs of their jerseys.

The 2023 season of The World Surf League Championship Tour is in full swing. Winter is the best time to catch the biggest and best waves all over the world. The men and women of the WSL will be heading to Peniche, Portugal for the third stop on the world tour. The event is called MEO Rip Curl Pro Portugal Presented by Corona and it is a fan and athlete favorite for many reasons. For the second year in a row, the competition window for this event will land on International Women’s Day and the surf athletes have a special tribute planned.

All men and women competitors will be honoring some of their favorite women in sports by wearing their names on the back of their jerseys. March is Women’s History Month and March 8 is International Women’s Day. The WSL has been a pioneer for equality in sports for many years. Both men and women surfers on tour receive equal prize money and get equal surfing opportunities in the water. Now they are spotlighting some of the best female athletes from all different sports.

Some of the names included this year are UFC featherweight champion Amanda Nunes, Serena Williams,  Naomi Osaka, Katie Ledecky, Sam Kerr, and more.

“We are deeply committed to equality and the progression of women’s surfing,” Jessi Miley-Dyer, WSL Chief of Sport said via a press release. “Our athletes and the WSL recognize the importance of using our platform to celebrate the values that make us unique in the sporting world. It is with great pleasure that we celebrate International Women’s Day and honor the trailblazers who have paved the way for women. I am thrilled that our athletes have embraced this opportunity to use their voices to champion women’s sports.”

The MEO Pro Portugal event kicks off with opening rounds for both men and women on March 7. Included in the competition is current world number 1 ranked Carrissa Moore and last year’s champion Stephanie Gilmore. For the men, Jack Robinson hopes to carry on his momentum from winning the Billabong Pro Pipeline.

The full list of World Surf League athletes and names are as follows:

Kolohe Andino (USA): Sydney McLaughlin

Jadson Andre (BRA): Victoria Barros

Jackson Baker (AUS): Carissa Moore

Teresa Bonvalot (POR): Patrícia Mamona

Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR): Nawal El Moutawakel

Gabriela Bryan (HAW): Haven Shepherd

Macy Callaghan (AUS): Emma McKeon

Ryan Callinan (AUS): Poppy Starr Olsen

Joao Chianca (BRA): Tatiana Weston-Webb

Griffin Colapinto (USA): Janice Aragon

Courtney Conlogue (USA): Lisa Andersen

Johanne Defay (FRA): Laure Manaudou

Yago Dora (BRA): Hortência Marcari

Ethan Ewing (AUS): Helen Ewing

Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA): Teresa Bonvalot

Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS): Layne Beachley

John John Florence (HAW): Alex Florence

Ian Gentil (HAW): Amanda Nunes

Stephanie Gilmore (AUS): Susie O’Neill

Brisa Hennessy (CRC): Jimena Ruiz

Maxime Huscenot (FRA): Serena Williams

Caio Ibelli (BRA): Taliê Hanada

Kanoa Igarashi (JPN): Naomi Osaka

Ezekiel Lau (HAW): Melanie Bartels

Barron Mamiya (HAW): Moana Jones Wong

Caroline Marks (USA): Katie Ledecky

Matthew McGillivray (RSA): Bianca Buitendag

Sophie McCulloch (AUS): Jessica Watson

Jake Marshall (USA): Alyssa Spencer

Gabriel Medina (BRA): Marta

Seth Moniz (HAW): Kelia Moniz

Carissa Moore (HAW): Megan Abubo

Carlos Munoz (CRC): Frieda Zamba

Isabella Nichols (AUS): Rhiannan Iffland

Liam O’Brien (AUS): Pauline Menczer

Connor O’Leary (AUS): Akemi Karasawa

Lakey Peterson (USA): Venus Williams

Molly Picklum (AUS): Ash Barty

Miguel Pupo (BRA): Luisa Stefani

Samuel Pupo (BRA): Rayssa Leal

Jack Robinson (AUS): Amanda Nunes

Callum Robson (AUS): Cathy Freeman

Michael Rodrigues (BRA): Tita Tavares

Bettylou Sakura Johnson (HAW): Rell Sunn

Caitlin Simmers (USA): Nora Vasconcellos

Kelly Slater (USA): Margo Oberg

Jordy Smith (RSA): Natalie Du Toit

Filipe Toledo (BRA): Stephanie Gilmore

Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA): Beatriz Haddad Maia

Rio Waida (INA): Greysia Polii and Apriyani Rahayu

Tyler Wright (AUS): Sam Kerr

Nat Young (USA): Kerri Walsh Jennings

You can catch all the action live on the WSL Youtube channel and at